Kainady is one of the beautiful villages of Alappuzha district in Kerala. It’s an area below sea level. It is a small island and consists of picturesque paddy fields and canals.
In 1921 under the influence of Pallithanam Luka Mathai, Kainady church obtained permission from the Travancore King to start St.Mary’s School which is the main educational institution in Kainady. At the beginning zone Mr. Mathai Luka Pallithananm was the manager and Mr. K. C. Thomas was the headmaster of the institution. This school was upgraded by the hard work of Rev. Fr. Kuruvilla Vadassery and support of well wishes of this parish. On 1st June in 1952 Rev. Fr. Kuruvilla became the manager and Rev. Sr. K. J. Rose was appointed as the headmistress.
In the scholastic year 1959-60, a new building was constructed to start high school. The prominent figures of this parish compelled the present government to grant high school. The permission from the government was soon granted. And in 1960, this school was upgraded into high school and renamed as A J JOHN MEMORIAL HIGH SCHOOL in honour of Shri. A.J John who was a renowned freedom fighter, first Keralite governor and also the speaker of Kerala assembly. Mr. Thomas Antony Assaruparambil, Kavalam was the first headmaster of high school.
On 4th September 1961, the primary section was split from high school. Mr. O. J. Punnoose Olakkappadyil, Edathua was appointed as the headmaster during that period. The first SSLC result was glorious with 93%. It was a remarkable achievement of that era. A. J. John’s birth centenary was also celebrated from 18th July 1992 to 18th July 1993.
The school celebrated its Golden Jubilee celebration from 2009-2010. In 2014 the school had been allotted with a plus two batch, the first in Neelamperoor panchayath with a Commerce and Science batch. And the school is striving hard to continue its culture of excellence in the field of education as well as in sports and arts.